Pebbles

 

He knows not my name
May be better like this
‘Cause there is not time for shame
When the mind is in the abyss

And did you ever know
It is better like this
When the truth is at a stone throw
But you can give it a miss

When I look into your eyes
I take what I don’t need
Is it charity in disguise
while I watch you recede?

I can’t say how
Or even when
But it’s such a long time now
That I’ve lost the touch of your hand

For one day or may be more
Will I miss you when you’re gone?
Will I have my turn in time
To become deaf or blind?
Will I again be caught
To try to be what I can not?

While your heart still beats
And my steps are in gravel and sand
It may better like this
We don’t try to understand

‘Cause there is no reason
Or may be why
You could escape your prison
Or me be by your side

And when the sun will set
On what you had to do
You will never get
What don’t belong to you

I may look ahead
To see only what’s behind
All the things unsaid
And nothing left to rewind

For one day or may be more
Will I miss you when you’re gone?
Will I have my turn in time
To become deaf or blind?
Will I again be caught
To try to be what I can not?