In this room empty of sound
rain at my window and your worried frown
Tell me why you’ve followed me here
and I’ll give a reason to appease your fear

My white shirt is ragged in sweat
from the long walk and the pace that I set
but you kept up and the shadow you cast
fell in between the now and my past

I’ll try not to give you the tired cliché
you want understand but this is my way
I’m fleeting by and soon I’ll be gone
you don’t need me and I the unknown

We were made for each other me and you
but I won’t linger I’m just passing through
so why gamble on a losing bet
                                                            rest on a smile not a regret

Chorus   Can’t tell you why but tell me your story
              tell me all I should know x 2
                                        and I will love you more
                                                                       even if I won’t know
                                                                                                     I won’t know

In this room empty of life
two is a crowd and I play it safe
Once you smiled you don’t want to cry
I couldn’t stop you if I tried

So don’t wonder why I won’t let you in
don’t know where to but I know where I’ve been
Sometime reason is best left unsaid
for the heart says I’m going with my head

It’s a promise I made me that I want to keep
it stays with me in my wake and my sleep
it fills all my voids when I’m alone
it reaches me deep when all else is gone

I know that you think it’s hard to take
the looks that you give and the love that you make
should never come up against a refuse
but you are a gift not an excuse

Chorus   Can’t tell you why but tell me your story
              tell me all I should know x 2
                                        and I will love you more
                                                                       even if I won’t know
                                                                                                     I won’t know