It’s midnight somewhere and I haven’t done a thing of note
I spent the day my way, never told ‘em I just wouldn’t turn up
Sometimes I can’t do crowds, but mostly I can’t do uniforms
I don’t mind my burden and I’m happy carrying it on my own

Ch. I could be something for you, if you just would let me be
        but I know that you can’t see, that you have to let go
        only then will you be free

It’s a day like any other and you’re trapped inside your fish bowl
There’s no way of telling, telling you, what may be wrong
And I choose the way of silence, for this is not my battle field
but this ache inside of me tells me, silence may not be the better shield

Ch. I could be something for you …

If I’m trying to understand this melancholy that crawled beneath my throat
It’s because I keep hearing the whispering of what I think I’m not
But if I turned down the lights my wooden mirrors would not reflect the face
of an ugly truth that should have disappeared long ago without a trace

Ch. I could be something for you …

It’s midnight somewhere and I haven’t done a thing of note
I’ll spend the night my way, for what is sinking now one day will float
If I’m ever in your crowd I’ll be the one without the uniform
because I’m happy with my burden, happier still for carrying it on my own

Ch. I could have been something for you, if you just would let me be
        but since you couldn’t see, I will have to let go
        at least one of us is free

Foto: Sketching in Medan ’10