Would you do me the kindness of dancing with me
to cheer the place that dwells in my dreams
Where no child anywhere need stretching their arms
to collect small change and unwanted alms
Where combat uniforms are a thing of the past
and the colour of guns is mould and rust
Where no woman alone in her home
should fear the smell of whiskey or rum

Would you do me the kindness of dancing with me
to cheer the place that dwells in my dreams
Yes, would you do me the kindness of dancing with me
to cheer the place that dwells in my dreams

Where people are no longer boats
and  the journey they make won’t take your votes
When they arrive they are more than a list
where colour and creed don’t only coexist
Where each to their own will be able to hold
the one they love not the one they are told
Where the only phobia before their eyes
is no discord in the order of goodbyes

Would you do me the kindness of dancing with me
to cheer the place that dwells in my dreams
Yes, would you do me the kindness of dancing with me
to cheer the place that dwells in my dreams

Where loneliness is the choice of the free
not a life sentence if you disagree
Where the shadow that falls to cool off your heat
comes from long branches not steel and concrete
Where measures slow down for you to try
to catch your breath and dance in the rain
Where fairness means that the day is done
so you can trace your steps all the way home

Would you do me the kindness of dancing with me
to cheer the place that dwells in my dreams
Yes, would you do me the kindness before I disappear
to give me and my dreams a reason to cheer

 

Foto: Street protest, Jakarta ’10